Search results: Found 6

Listing 1 - 6 of 6
Sort by
Mongrel Nation

Author:
ISBN: 9780472099917 9780472025053 Year: DOI: 10.3998/mpub.206486 Language: English
Publisher: University of Michigan Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 100928
Added to DOAB on : 2018-04-20 11:02:35
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

Mongrel Nation surveys the history of the United Kingdom’s African, Asian, and Caribbean populations from 1948 to the present, working at the juncture of cultural studies, literary criticism, and postcolonial theory. Ashley Dawson argues that during the past fifty years Asian and black intellectuals from Sam Selvon to Zadie Smith have continually challenged the United Kingdom’s exclusionary definitions of citizenship, using innovative forms of cultural expression to reconfigure definitions of belonging in the postcolonial age. By examining popular culture and exploring topics such as the nexus of race and gender, the growth of transnational politics, and the clash between first- and second-generation immigrants, Dawson broadens and enlivens the field of postcolonial studies.

Keywords

Literature

Eating Identities

Author:
ISBN: 9780824831950 9780824878436 Year: Language: English
Publisher: University of Hawai'i Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 101448
Added to DOAB on : 2020-05-04 09:59:48
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

'Eating Identities' is the first book to link food to a wide range of Asian American concerns such as race and sexuality. Xu provides lucid and informed interpretations of seven Asian American writers (John Okada, Joy Kogawa, Frank Chin, Li-Young Lee, David Wong Louie, Mei Ng, and Monique Truong), revealing how cooking, eating, and food fashion Asian American identities in terms of race/ethnicity, gender, class, diaspora, and sexuality. Most literary critics perceive alimentary references as narrative strategies or part of the background; Xu takes food as the central site of cultural and political struggles waged in the seemingly private domain of desire in the lives of Asian Americans. For students of literature, this tantalizing work offers an illuminating lesson on how to read the multivalent meanings of food and eating in literary texts.

Keywords

Literature

Proust and America

Author:
ISBN: 9781846311147 9781846313875 Year: DOI: 10.26530/oapen_626374 Language: English
Publisher: Liverpool University Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 100316
Subject: Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2017-03-31 11:02:04
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

“It is strange,” Proust wrote in 1909, “that, in the most widely different departments . . . there should be no other literature which exercises over me so powerful an influence as English and American.” In the spirit of Proust’s admission, this engaging and critical volume offers the first comparative reading of the French novelist in the context of American art, literature, and culture. In addition to examining Proust’s key American influences—Ralph Waldo Emerson, Edgar Allen Poe, and James McNeill Whistler—Proust and America investigates the previously overlooked influence of the American neurologist George Beard, whose writings on neurasthenia and “American nervousness” contributed to the essential modernity of the author’s work.

Keywords

Literature --- Proust

Enthusiast!

Author:
ISBN: 9780719074288 9780719095849 9781526125118 Year: DOI: 10.26530/oapen_628391 Language: English
Publisher: Manchester University Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 100119
Subject: Languages and Literatures
Added to DOAB on : 2017-05-05 11:01:48
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

This book takes enthusiasm to be a defining feature of American literature, showing how successive major writers – Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, Frank O’Hara and James Schuyler – have modernized and re-modeled Emerson’s founding sense of enthusiasm. The book presents the writer as enthusiast, showing how enthusiasm is fundamental to the composition and the circulation of literature. Enthusiasm, it is argued, is the way literary value is passed on. Starting with a brief history of enthusiasm from Plato to Kant and Emerson, the book features chapters on each of Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, O’Hara, and Schuyler. Each chapter presents an aspect of the writer as enthusiast, the book as a whole charting the changing sense of literary enthusiasm from Romanticism to the present day. Lucidly written and combatively argued, the book will appeal to readers of American Literature or Modern Poetry, and to all those interested in the circulation of literary work.

Labyrinths of Deceit

Author:
Book Series: Liverpool English Texts and Studies ISBN: 9780853238492 Year: Language: English
Publisher: Liverpool University Press Grant: Knowledge Unlatched - 102619
Subject: History
Added to DOAB on : 2019-01-23 06:28:26
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

Prominent citizens in nineteenth-century England believed themselves to be living in a time of unstoppable progress. Yet running just beneath Victorian triumphalism were strong undercurrents of chaos and uncertainty. Richard Walker plumbs the depths of those currents in order to present an alternative history of nineteenth-century society. Mining literary and philosophical works of the period, Walker explores the crisis of identity that beset nineteenth-century thinkers and how that crisis revealed itself in portrayals of addiction, split personalities, and religious mania. Victorian England will never look the same.

The Politics of Imagination

Author:
Book Series: Kultur- und Medientheorie ISBN: 9783839406816 Year: Pages: 198 DOI: 10.14361/9783839406816 Language: English
Publisher: transcript Verlag
Subject: Media and communication
Added to DOAB on : 2020-02-11 11:21:23
License:

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Abstract

This book explores Walter Benjamin, Siegfried Kracauer and Alexander Kluge's analyses of the role that a rejuvenation in the capacity for imagination can play in encouraging us to reconceive the possibilities of the past, the present, and the future outside of the parameters of the status quo. The concept of imagination to which the title of the book refers is not a strictly defined, stable concept, but rather a term which is employed to refer to a capacity that facilitates both an active, creative relationship to one's environment, and a process of mediation between the outside world and one's own experiences and memories. Through a detailed analysis of their engagements with subjects that span a broad range of historical and thematic contexts (including topics as diverse as literature, children's play, film, photography, history, and television) the book charts the extent to which the concept of imagination plays a central role in Benjamin, Kracauer, and Kluge's explorations of a mode of perception and experience which could serve as a catalyst for the creation and sustenance of a desire for a different kind of future.

Listing 1 - 6 of 6
Sort by
Narrow your search

Publisher

Liverpool University Press (2)

Manchester University Press (1)

University of Hawai'i Press (1)

University of Michigan Press (1)

transcript Verlag (1)


License

CC by-nc-nd (6)


Language

english (6)


Year
From To Submit

2007 (6)